You and me, Esperanto.

Alright, heres the skinny. Me and Esperanto are going 1v1 for the next 3 months. At the end of the 3 months I would like to be able to do, or start doing:

  • Take lecture notes in Esperanto.
  • Start reading The Hobbit (or any Esperanto book I’m interested in) with only moderate dictionary use, and being able to explain the page/chapter I just read in Esperanto out loud.
  • Being able to make posts on forums / blog posts in Esperanto with little to no help from a dictionary. Spell check is okay!
  • Being able to chat about things I chat about in English, but a more acceptable mistake ratio, ie 70%-75% correct. This conversations would be about Programming, video games, books (The Hobbit even), etc.
  • I do a lot of programming, so it would be useful if I was able to comment my source code in Esperanto.

Quite lofty, but I can do this! I’ve spent quite some time reading AJATT, Benny’s Blog
and Japanese Level up. Yes, two of those blogs are related directly to Japanese, but the methods can be applied else where, and I’ve actually been learning Japanese up until this point. But I’ve decided to shelf it for the moment while I try learning Esperanto, I want to use Esperanto as a testing bed on how I best learn languages, so the next 3 months I have a lot of different things planed to see if I can find how I learn the best, and what I enjoy the most.

Benny’s Language hacking guide has convinced me to learn Esperanto but its not just some study that convinced me, I really like the ideology behind the language and the promise of easy grammar. It will also be valuable because  it introduces the rolling or trilled r, which isn’t really in English, but is in quite a few other languages (most famously, Spanish). Esperanto speakers are dotted around the world, and from my reading and research they can be found in almost every major city. This hopefully will make finding someone to speak it with easier.

So the journey begins. I wonder where this will take me?

3 comments
  1. Japanese is a great and fascinating language. I’m an Esperanto speaker based out of Atlanta, GA. I plan to move overseas in 2014.

    • Yeah, I really find Japanese interesting. The kanji are just such a different way to write compared to using the latin alphabet. As I’ve been learning Esperanto, I’ve almost found myself wishing for kanji. Symbols are so much easier to associate with an image then words that kinda look like English.

      大 vs granda

      Okay so this isn’t good example at all, but I find it much easier to tell that 大 is large, compared to granda.

      Also, Saluton!
      Really exciting to see another (even if I can’t really speak it yet) Esperanto speaker online.

      • Definitely! There are many of us.
        The in-person clubs are notoriously inactive or of rather high median age.

Leave a Reply

