Learning Katakana with Hiragana

Last time I spoke about Memrise and how much I like it, so I figured this time I’d mention it since that is what I’m using for a lot of my Japanese.

I’ve used Memrise to learn Hiragana and some Katakana, but I didn’t really like the fact that all the courses I could find taught Katakana with English. I already knew Hiragana, so there wasn’t any reason for me to look at the English for the Katakana was well. This is where the nice part about Memrise comes in, anyone can make their own course and make it public. So I went and made a course that quizzes you on Katakana using the Hiragana. I find this better because now I can practice both my Hiragana and Katakana at the exactly same time, other than that it really doesn’t change how the course was before.

What I mean is that Hiragana is associating a symbol with a sound, and Katakana happens to share those same sounds but with different symbols. You can still use all the imagery one would use from English to Katakana, because it’s just a noise. The only difference is that sometimes it is more challenging because the English isn’t there, but I think that’s a good thing.

You can check it out here!

I’ve been thinking about making the same course in reverse, but I don’t really think it would be that hard to use the course as in to learn Hiragana if you already know Katakana.

I’ve also had thoughts about making a large course in Japanese that would teach Hiragana, then Katakana using Hiragana, then some very basic grammar and words.

What do you guys think? Has anyone else made courses on Memrise? Share them in the comments!!

Leave a Reply

